The Cool and Calm of Nighttime…Authentically

I have been on this earth for 29 years and from my memory of my life, I have always been a night owl.  I never liked waking up in the morning to go to school and I’m just not a morning person.  I have never understood what makes a person wake up in the morning and be extremely chipper and happy.  Sometimes I just want to ask them “What happened to you this morning?”  I wonder how they are so happy and upbeat that early in the morning.

Night Sky

I remember back in my school days my mother waking me up to get ready and she’d come in my room and say “Wake up Little Girl” even though I was in junior and high school.  I’d open my eyes and say to myself “I’m just going to lay here another 5 minutes”.  I would fall right back to sleep.  About 20 or 30 minutes later, my mom would come back and say “Girl I woke you up 30 minutes ago.”  I never could just get up.  I feel like I had to be jolted awake to really be awake.

I feel that nighttime is when I am my most authentic self emotionally, physically, and creatively.  I love the night because because of the mystery of it and how it allows me to find things out for myself.  The time I have at night is when I gather my thoughts and create and have my best ideas.  The nighttime is when I feel my most EVERYTHING!!! I just feel like myself.

Hey let me know when you feel your most authentic in the comments below. Night or day?

Leave a Reply

